Executive Committee

AFEA Officials (2016)

The last year next to each title marks the year their term ends.

Edward Ghartey

President (2017-2018)

Professor of Economics and Director of Economic Policy Research Unit, The University of the West Indies, Mona Campus, Kingston, Jamaica

Samuel Amponsah

President-elect and Program Chair (2017-2018)

Lecturer, The Institute for International Strategy, Tokyo International University Foundation

Jane Karonga

Vice President (2017-2018)

Economist, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, Ethiopia

Christian Nsiah

Secretary/Treasurer (2016-2019)

Associate Professor, Baldwin Wallace University

Elizabeth Asiedu

Editor of JAD (2017-2018)

Professor of Economics, University of Kansas


Managing Editor JAD (2017-2018)

Associate Professor & Graduate Program Director, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Board Members

Bichaka Fayissa

Immediate Past President (2017-2018)

Professor of Economics, Middle Tennessee State University


Lynda Pickbourn


Assistant Professor of Economics, Hampshire College

Jean-Claude Maswana


Associate Professor of Economics, The University of Tsukuba, Japan

Mina Baliamoune-Lutz


Professor of Economics in the Coggin College of Business, University of North Florida

Akpan H. Ekpo


Director General, West African Institute for Financial and Economic Management

John Francois


Department of Economics, University of Kansas

Steve F. Koch


Professor of Economics, University of Pretoria